Call us on 01394 382174  
Watch The Trailer
AVAILABLE FOR FEATURE FILMS
La Forza Del Destino - Broadcast Live from the Royal Opera House
Tuesday 2nd April - Tickets £15| Students £12.50 (ID Req)

Tuesday 2nd April  6.15pm


Christof Loy directs a star-studded cast of singers, including Anna Netrebko, Jonas Kaufmann and Ludovic Tézier, in Verdi's epic opera, conducted by Antonio Pappano.

La forza del destino is one of Verdi's most ambitious scores. Its overture - which introduces us to the sinister motif signifying Fate - is one of his most memorable. The opera also contains some of Verdi’s most brilliant choral writing, including Act III’s stirring ‘Rataplan’ chorus, and several beautiful and intimate arias such as Leonora's ardent Act IV 'Pace, pace mio Dio!'. There's comedy too with the scenes for the greedy monk Fra Melitone. Christof Loy's colourful and spectacular production reflects the kaleidoscopic nature of Verdi's opera, where intense personal dramas play out against a background of war, and in which religion plays an ambiguous role.

Verdi and his librettist and friend Francesco Maria Piave based La forza del destino on Ángel de Saavedra's highly dramatic play Don Alvaro, o la fuerzo del sino, and also incorporated material from Schiller's Wallenstein's Camp for Act III's military scenes. Following Forza's 1862 St Petersburg premiere, Verdi made extensive revisions to the score. The most substantial of these were a new overture, and a less melodramatic ending, in which Don Alvaro remained alive rather than committing suicide. The revised Forza, the version best known today, had its premiere on 27 February 1869 at La Scala, Milan.


Sung in Italian with English subtitles


Full film details, credits and trailers can be found at IMDB.com


Running Time:
4 hours 15 minutes including 2 intervals

Book by phone on 01394 382174

Box Office Hours
Mon - Sat 10am - 8:30pm
Sun 10am - 6:30pm

Cinema Entrance Prices
Adult - £8.50
Senior/Student with ID - £7
Child (15 and under) - £6
Family Ticket - £25
(2 adults + 2 children or 1 adult + 3 children)

Please note stage shows, live streams & featured events are priced individually. Tickets for all our performances (including films) are non refundable.
 
Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald
Friday 16th November until 29th November
The Madness of George III - broadcast live from Nottingham Playhouse
Tuesday 20th November - Tickets £15| Students £12.50 (ID Req)
Meet Me In St. Louis (1944)
Monday 26th November (Dementia Friendly)
The King and I - A recorded broadcast from The London Palladium
Thursday 29th November SOLD OUT & Sunday 2nd December (Encore) SOLD OUT *NEW DATE ADDED* Thursday 10th January 7:30pm - Tickets £15 | Students £12.50 (ID Req)
Kind Hearts and Coronets (1949)
Friday 30th November (Silver Screen)
Bohemian Rhapsody
Friday 30th November until Thursday 6th December
Home Alone 2: Lost in New York
Saturday 1st December
The Nutcracker - broadcast live from the Royal Opera House
Monday 3rd December & Sunday 9th December (encore) - Tickets £15| Students £12.50 (ID Req)
Antony and Cleopatra - broadcast live from the National Theatre
Thursday 6th December - Tickets £15| Students £12.50 (ID Req)
The Girl in the Spider's Web
Friday 7th December until Thursday 13th December
The Nightmare Before Christmas
Saturday 8th December
A Christmas Carol
Tuesday 11th December - Tickets £15 | £12.50 Seniors/Students | £10 Children
Stanley's War
Sunday 16th December
Widows
Sunday 16th December until Thursday 20th December
White Christmas
Monday 17th December (Dementia Friendly)
Ralph Breaks the Internet
Friday 21st December until Thursday 27th December
Mary Poppins Returns - Booking Soon!
Friday 21st December until Thursday 3rd January 2019
Up
Saturday 29th December
Andre Rieu 2019 New Year's Concert from Sydney
Saturday 5th - Sunday 6th January
The Tragedy of King Richard the Second
Tuesday 15th January - Tickets £15| Students £12.50 (ID Req)
The Queen of Spades - broadcast live from The Royal Opera House
Tuesday 22nd January - Tickets £15| Students £12.50 (ID Req)
A Woman of No Importance
Wednesday 23rd January 2019 - All Tickets £12.50 - discount offer available
La Traviata - broadcast live from The Royal Opera House
Wednesday 30th January Tickets:£15| Students £12.50 (ID Req)
I'm Not Running - broadcast live from NTLIve
Thursday 31st January Tickets: £15| Students £12.50 (ID Req)
Young Picasso: Exhibition On Screen
Sunday 10th February - Tickets: £12.50 | Students £10 (ID Req) - discount ticket deal available
Don Quixote encore - A recorded broadcast from The Royal Opera House
Sunday 24th February - Tickets £15 | Students £12.50 (ID req)
Lady Windermere's Fan
Wednesday 27th February 2019 - All tickets £12.50 - discount ticket offer available
An Ideal Husband
Wednesday 27th March 2019 - All tickets £12.50 - discount ticket offer available
La Forza Del Destino - Broadcast Live from the Royal Opera House
Tuesday 2nd April - Tickets £15| Students £12.50 (ID Req)
Rembrandt: Exhibition On Screen
Sunday 14th April - Tickets: £12.50 | Students £10 (ID Req) - discount ticket deal available
Faust - Broadcast Live from the Royal Opera House
Tuesday 30th April - Tickets £15| Students £12.50 (ID Req)
The Importance of Being Earnest
Wednesday 1st May 2019 - All tickets £12.50 - discount ticket offer available
Within the Golden Hour - broadcast live from the Royal Opera House
Thursday 16th May 2019 - Tickets £15 | Students £12.50 (ID Req)
Van Gogh and Japan: Exhibition on Screen
Sunday 9th June - Tickets: £12.50 | Students £10 (ID req) - discount ticket deal available
Romeo and Juliet - broadcast live from the Royal Opera House
Tuesday 11th June 2019 - Tickets £15 | £12.50 (ID Req)